10 million girls… 1 voice.

I was 7 years old the first time I heard WAGGGS.
WAGGGS stands for World Association of Girl Guides and Girl Scouts.

The mission statement of WAGGGS is:
“To enable girls and young women to develop their fullest potential as responsible citizens of the world.”

And one of their two goals is:
“Empower young girls and women to be agents of change in the world”

At age 7 I didn’t quit understand what those statements meant,
but now at age 21, I realize they’re the statements that shape my life.
All I want to do is change the world.
And apparently, my current boss believes I can.
“Small and mighty–going to change the world. Yep, you are”

Girl Scouting has always been a love of mine,
but mostly they are working on girls becoming self-confident and courageous.
WAGGGS is working on changing the world.
Something about that strikes more of a cord with me.

I was 18 years old when I boarded a plane to begin the WAGGGS journey I had dreamed of for 11 years.
I landed in Switzerland that cold May day, and my world changed, and I began to change the world.

“You put an ocean and a river between everybody.
Between everything, yourself and home.”

My WAGGGS home on the hill

My WAGGGS home on the hill

The summer I was there I talked with the most brilliant young women.
We talked about how we could change the world around us,
And the things that we believed needed to change.
Change comes in small chunks when you want to affect the world, but it still comes…

While I am a proud member of Girl Scouts,
I am an even prouder member of WAGGGS.

On Friday, at camp, we did a counselor scavenger hunt.
When camper groups found me, we had to ask them a trivia question before we signed their sheet.
I asked many WAGGGS questions.

The girls didn’t know where the four World Centre’s were located.
They didn’t know what WAGGGS stood for
And they didn’t know who inspired Juliette Gordon Low to say,

“Come right over!
I’ve got something for the girls of Savannah,
and all of America,
and all the world,
and we’re going to start tonight!”

To say I was disappointed would be an understatement.
Devastated would be more like it.
Girl Scouts, an organization that gave me WAGGGS, had failed these children in my eyes.

But something amazing happened later that evening.
At our closing campfire for all of the staff,
We wrote each other all nice notes.

One staff member wrote me and told me that I had changed her life.
I had inspired her to apply for Our Cabana,
the WAGGGS World Centre in Cuernavaca, Mexico.

DSC_1178

Also, throughout the summer, I was able to talk multiple times with my partner about my experience at Our Chalet.
Inspiring her to possibly apply to work at Our Chalet.

DSC_1170

These are two women who I would fully support in their endeavours to be world changers in the world of WAGGGS.
Honestly, I couldn’t select better women for these adventures.
Both of these ladies showed me beauty, talent, love, and adventure throughout the summer.

And mostly I learned, that it isn’t the organization that needs to teach girls and young women about WAGGGS.
It’s me, the one who has been there, who has the first hand story of WAGGGS.

So here’s to Jessie and Jessie taking over WAGGGS.
I’ll see you out there, “on the loose”

 

Leave a Reply

