Born to roam.

As I start the journey into being a college senior,
many people have asked me,
“what comes next?”
So I tell them my elaborate plans,
which includes living in a German-speaking country for a year and then doing a Peace Corps term,
Which is 27 months.
The look I get after telling them this is one I’m used to, and it’s the “Oh Sarah…” look.

I was born to roam.
I wasn’t born to live on a schedule.
I’ve never liked the mundane, repetitive life.

From the day they placed tiny little Sarah into kindergarten, I’ve lived on a schedule.
Every year of school was another schedule, and my after school activities were a strict schedule too.
College came and brought another schedule.
And after college, many people will go off and get that 9-5 desk job with yet another schedule.

To me, that sounds about as appealing as living the rest of my life in a cage.
I need the unexpected moments, the new places, the thrill of meeting people.
All my life I’ve spent my scheduled time in school dreaming of my unscheduled time,
where I could explore, adventure, and live free.

If you’ve ever held a conversation with me you probably know I’m always planning my next time I’ll be adventuring.
A lot of you reading this probably met me on one of my adventures. (Our Chalet, Evergreen, Magic Sky Ranch… I see you ladies)
I’m always running to the next adventure.

I’ve been told I can’t live my entire life as a dreamer, and that I can’t travel all the time.
But I say, why not try?
It’d kill my soul to have  a 9-5 job, so might as well feed the soul with a little adventure.

I may not lead the life most people will,
But I want to be covered in dirt,
surrounded by the beauty of the world,
lending a helping hand to anyone and everyone.
I also want to be in outfits with no care of fashionable or not,
surrounded by languages that aren’t my own,
and seeing places I’ve seen in books and on tv.

I need adventure.

 

Switzerland 2010

Switzerland 2010

Germany 2011.

Germany 2011.

New York 2011.

New York 2011.

Switzerland 2012.

Switzerland 2012.

Costa Rica 2013.

Costa Rica 2013.

DSC00974

Colorado 2013.

Germany 2014.

Germany 2014.

Leave a Reply

