Where ya from?!

A young Girl Scout rode into camp for the first time,  and she smiled and smiled and smiled. And while she smiled, she sang:

I’ll love you forever,
I’ll like you for always,
As long as I’m living
my camp you’ll be.

DSCF2741

The Girl Scout grew. She grew and She grew and She grew. She grew until she was a second year camper, and she ran all around Camp Kate Portwood. She kabushed bathroom stalls. She bought sour skittles from the Trading Post and she never laid on her bed during H-time. Sometimes her counselors would say, “this Girl Scout is driving me CRAZY!”

But at night-time, when the camp was quiet, the Girl Scout unzipped her sleeping bag, crawled into bed, looked out the window; and if the stars were really shining,  she’d smile and smile and smile. While she smiled she sang:

I’ll love you forever,
I’ll like you for always,
As long as I’m living
my camp you’ll be.

81560033

The Girl Scout grew. She grew and she grew and she grew. She grew until she was a horsey girl. And she never wanted to leave the barn, she never wanted to leave Pat’s side, and when it was time for hiking, she always whined. Sometimes her counselors wanted to sell her to the zoo!

But at night-time, when the camp was quiet, the Girl Scout unzipped her sleeping bag, crawled into bed, looked out the window; and if the stars were really shining,  she’d smile and smile and smile. While she smiled she sang:

I’ll love you forever,
I’ll like you for always,
As long as I’m living
my camp you’ll be.

81560078

The Girl Scout grew. She grew and she grew and she grew. She grew until she was a Program Aide. She had foreign friends and she ate foreign chocolate and she played foreign games. Sometimes the counselors felt like they were in a zoo!

But at night-time, when the camp was quiet, the Girl Scout unzipped her sleeping bag, crawled into bed, looked out the window; and if the stars were really shining,  she’d smile and smile and smile. While she smiled she sang:

I’ll love you forever,
I’ll like you for always,
As long as I’m living
my camp you’ll be.

singing

That Girl Scout grew. She grew and she grew and she grew. She grew until she was a CIT. Camp Kate Portwood wasn’t open that summer, so she went to Camp E-Ko-Wah. But sometimes on dark nights the Girl Scout would become nostalgic and remember Camp Kate Portwood.  If all the campers were asleep, the Girl Scout would unzip her sleeping bag, crawl into bed, look out the window; and if the stars were really shining,  she’d smile and smile and smile. While she smiled she sang:

I’ll love you forever,
I’ll like you for always,
As long as I’m living
my camp you’ll be.

DSCF0773

Well, that Girl Scout, she got older. She got older and older and older. One day her mom said, “We’d better go see Camp Kate Portwood, it’s being closed down, for good.” So the Girl Scout went to camp. When she came in the gates she tried to sing the song. She sang:

I’ll love you forever,
I’ll like you for always…

But she couldn’t finish because she was crying too hard. The wind at camp surrounded the Girl Scout. It lifted her spirits and she smiled and smiled and smiled. And the wind whistled this song:

I’ll love you forever,
I’ll like you for always,
As long as I’m living
Your home I’ll be.

dsc_0686

When the Girl Scout went to Colorado two summers later, she stared for a long time at the camp gates. Then she drove into the camp grounds. She sat on the dining hall porch and she smiled and smiled and smiled. And while she smiled she sang:

I’ll love you forever,
I’ll like you for always,
As long as I’m living
my new camp you’ll be.

Camp Kate 7

“I’ve been sitting here thinking about leaving,
Just when I wanted to stay the most,
So I went outside and left a piece of my heart buried by the third fence post.
When tomorrow morning comes, I’ll be smiling, though I might be a little down.
Though my body’s leaving, I’ll still be around.
I’ve been sitting here thinking about flowers and sunshine and the happiness of being alive.
Which means I’m thinking of you and water and mountains,
and plenty of wide open skies”

5 thoughts on “Where ya from?!

Leave a Reply

