Society isn’t beautiful, but you are.

Let this be my official apology.
I am a sociology major.
That being said, I have a lot of views.
While I plan on keeping this blog fairly politically free
(cannot promise politics will never be mentioned),
I do think this blog is a grand place for a rant.
So read on.

Raise your hand if you’ve ever been called ugly, or any variation.
I’m currently raising my hand.
Raise your hand if you’ve ever thought you were ugly, or any variation.
I’ve still got my hand up.

It’s impossible to not feel that way at some points.
Every single person has moments where they look in a mirror and go, “rough…”
The problem is when that’s how they continue to see themselves.

I woke up this morning and my curls were EVERYWHERE,
like if my roommate had seen it, well, God bless her soul.
But I brushed them out.
(for anyone with curly hair, you know that’s never the right choice…)
And I looked in the mirror and made a face.
Fresh morning face and an afro, a really becoming look for me.

I then continued to get ready.
I straightened my hair,
Put on a full face of makeup.
And got dressed.
(Don’t think I’m a real person or anything–I’m wearing rock climbing pants today…)

As I left my room this morning I took one last look in the mirror and reminded myself,
I. Am. Pretty.
It’s not the straight hair, or the makeup, or even the rock climbing pants that make me pretty.
It’s natural.
And that’s just it, EVERYONE on this planet has that.

“So God created mankind in his own image,
In the image of God he created them;
Male and female he created them.”
Genesis 1:27

Read that.
You, and everyone else, were created in God’s image.
And if that isn’t beauty, I don’t think anything is.

Now I’m a girl growing up in 21st century America.
Obviously I have a lot of media influence out there.
And it’s pretty sickening.
The average weight of a model is 115.
So that’s telling me I weigh 15 pounds less than a runway model,
Ironically, I’m about a foot and half shorter than them too.

The media, the idea of beauty, and society are ruining girls.
46% of 9 to 11 year olds diet.
How can they need to diet when their little bodies aren’t even fully developed?!
I was still rocking baby fat at that age.

But looking back, it wasn’t long after that age that I can pinpoint when I decided to unconditionally love myself.
I was 12 years old, and I had a friend named Morgan,
She’d just moved to Blanchard from California.
And she was (and still is) beautiful.
She was also so assured of herself, and an amazing personality.
Morgan, without knowing it, taught me to love myself.
Now I didn’t ever hate myself, but I hated aspects of myself, as every girl does.

I am not perfect.
Absolutely no one is.

So I’m going to do something I don’t normally do.
I’m going to actually make a challenge for those of you who have read this far.
It’s a 2 part thing.
Part 1: Make a list of things about yourself that are beautiful, inside and out.
(I’ll post mine below)
Part 2: Find beauty in other people, inside and out, and then TELL THEM.
Maybe you will be the first one to tell them and it will make their day and give them a new appreciation of that feature of themselves.

 

Things I love about myself:

My sense of adventure.
My eyes are golden, not brown, golden.
My humor.
My legs. (rock climbing is good for you people)
My two dimples, that are on the same side of my face.
My Blanchard accent. (It’s real people…)
My Oklahoman citizenship.
My teeth are straight. (Thanks mum and dad for the killer orthodontist)
My back scar. (2 metal rods and 18 pins and screws in your back is something to brag about)

fc123cbf9621ecc3b4b3dbf551a3b52d

 

Leave a Reply

