Sure looked a lot like home from where I stood.

I guess my love of Colorado begin when I was 8 years old.
Family vacation to Mesa Verde,
We’d learned about it in the 3rd grade,
and I BEGGED my parents to go.

When I was 10 years old I went back to Colorado for my first attempt at skiing.
Durango, Colorado is, to this day, one of my favorite places I’ve been.

But I guess it wasn’t until a whole decade later that the state really started feeling like home.

Magic Sky Ranch is a Girl Scout camp located an hour away from Fort Collins.
And that’s where I lived and worked summer of 2013.

The summer was… interesting.
We had ups, downs, tears, and laughter.
But in the end I drove out of that state knowing I had some solid friendships still there.

This past week I was lucky enough to get to head back to Colorado,
my home away from home.
and hang with some lovely ladies from the summer.

The first moment that H. and I were back together was exactly like our last moment together in the summer.
Screaming and big hugs.
Only difference was we were now standing in snow.

I don’t know what it is about Colorado that made it become my home so quickly,
But leaving hurts,
and the second I am home again, all I can think about it heading back.

So, Colorado, you’re in my blood now.
Your people are accepting me.
And I’ve trying to figure out how I could make you a more permanent home.

Oklahoma is my first love, but Colorado, you may be my last.

C, T, and H, reunited at last.

C, T, and H, reunited at last.

Leave a Reply

