Deaner Beaner

August 4 2006
I got a sister.
5 feet and 10 inches, with a full head of hair.
And an accent that would soon make me feel at home even on the darkest days.
The Labude family grew just a little more.

Maybe you noticed, she wasn’t exactly a newborn.
She was a 16-year-old from Switzerland.
But she was my sister nonetheless.

She was going to with us a year.
And when the year was over, she would go home.
Little did I know, in years to come her home would become my home.

I was obsessed with Switzerland starting around age 8.
So at age 13, my parents caved and let a Swiss teenager live with us.

To say we had a rocky start would be an understatement.
We downright hated each other in the beginning.
I actually put her hair gel in her makeup once.
(yes, Nadine, it was me)

But eventually we did build a sisterly bond.
Some of my favorite memories involve:
silly family road trips to look at caves,
Prom, prom, prom, the theme of the semester was PROM,
Random sleepovers in my room, because neither of us wanted to say goodnight.
She became my best friend that year,
And I’ve never had a better sister than her.

But June came, and she left.
Not without one last stay-up-the-whole-night, sleepover.
Tears were shed in the OKC airport.
And I can still vividly remember watching her walk through security.
My sister was gone.

July 2008.
March 2010.
March 2011.
June 2012.
July 2012.
All the times that her and I have been back together since she left.
1 family trip to America,
2 group trips to Switzerland,
and 1 solo summer job in Switzerland.

We’ve managed to stay family.
And that’s truly the happiest thing.

July 2008

July 2008

IMG_1300

June 2012

Leave a Reply

